Decision-Making

Once I knew that I wanted to be an artist, I had made myself into one. I did not understand that wanting doesn’t always lead to action. Many of the women had been raised without the sense that they could mold and shape their own lives, and so, wanting to be an artist (but without the ability to realize their wants) was, for some of them, only an idle fantasy, like wanting to go to the moon.

-Judy Chicago

I spent a good chunk of my life “looking for myself”, but never realized I create and refine myself with each decision and action I take until recently. It’s a terribly weighty responsibily, if you think of it that way – but it’s also a philosophy of freedom and high potential for fulfillment and beauty. Society limits each of us according to race and gender, and we fight to transcend those boundaries. The boundaries we place on ourselves are the hardest to remove, because we don’t know that they are there.

You can change your life at any age, if you want to do something – find out more about it, and see how you can get it or something like it in your life. I’m doubtful I can be a psychologist at this point in my life – but I can work to help heal myself and others. Maybe I’ll change this opinion once I get more education.

There is so much grace and beauty in this world – you just need to be open to receive it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

