Taking Responsibility for Yourself

Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.

-Anne Frank

Taking responsibility for yourself and your every action is liberating. The more you seek to master yourself, and the less you seek to control others, the happier you’ll be is what I’ve found out to be true in this life.

I wasn’t always this enlightened, though. I used to resent my mother and male partners for being human, essentially. It’s a little more complicated than that, but I’m the one who chose to take a self-destructive path and keep hopping back on it. No one else to blame for that but myself. I do have to take the responsibility of not associating with people who I cannot successfully be a good person around. That’s another form of responsibility. It’s a limitation of mine at the moment…

The more you realize that you control yourself – the more freedom you have to change.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

