Excitement for Life

I want to get you excited about who you are, what you are, what you have, and what can still be for you. I want to inspire you to see that you can go far beyond where you are right now.

-Virginia Satir

Zest for life in its entirety is missing in my recovery…My brain is used to HUGE jolts of dopamine, so this return to meditation and moderation is a bit of an adjustment. I’m reading sutras and taking courses in Buddhism & meditation, trying to get my mind right. I alternate enjoying its depth and having to psych myself up for it. This is going to pay off, though, I’m going to have a healthier mind and body for all this work. Investing in yourself is the best type of investment you can make…

I was wasting too much of my energies on others and I really paid for it in mental stability. It’s one thing when the person can pay you back, but when you just get drained and the only return you can get is chemical, well, you suffer for it. I slammed the door of friendship on a few people…I miss the excitement, but mostly? I feel free and more excited and invested in my own future. Wish I had this mindset at an earlier age, but mostly I’m trying to stay on the right path…I need to stay focused on myself.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

