Love

Love is an expression and assertion of self-esteem, a response to one’s own values in the person of another.

-Ayn Rand

Huh. I’m fighting the urge to deconstruct this whole thing on the principle that its something Ayn Rand said, so therefore wrong and evil.

Gimme a minute.

Mature love is indeed based around a person’s values and inner beauty rather than an infatuation with their outer shell. I tend to appreciate and value people with contrasting, but compatible values, though. I don’t think I’ve ever met someone with exactly matching values to myself, so maybe I just haven’t had the opportunity yet.

I realize this quote is being used in the context of general love, rather than romantic love, but I find it amusing that most past objects of my affection would be prone to agreeing with the quote based on the fact that Ayn Rand said it.

Therefore, she’s wrong and evil.

lol.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

